top of page



(Left to Right) Dawn Privett (admin. asst.), Kendell Buzard, Mitzi Miller, Mike Cone, Rick Ledbetter, Quentin Carnes, Sharon Davis, George Hay.(deceased).

The Roosevelt Soil and Water Conservation District (RSWCD) is a governmental subdivision of the state, a public body politic and corporate. The Board of Supervisors (Board) is charged with matters affecting soil erosion and flood water and sediment damage. As such, the duties of the Board include the coordination of matters of research, investigations, and surveys with government agencies. RSWCD was formed circa 1941 and there are approximately 3,008,534 acres within RSWCD boundaries.


The RSWCD is run by the board members who are elected to the position by Roosevelt County residents. Board members are: Mike Cone (Chairman), Quentin Carnes (Vice Chair), Rick Ledbetter (Treasurer/Secretary), Mitzi Miller, Kendell Buzard, Sharon Davis, & Dylan Marks , (Supervisors); along with Dawn Privett who is the Administrative Assistant.


We are also partnered with the Natural Resources Conservation Service ( NRCS ), New Mexico Association of Conservation Districts (NMACD), and New Mexico Soil and Water Conservation Commission (NMSWCC).


Monthly board meetings are held the 2nd Thursday of every month at 7 am. 

bottom of page